Messages From digitrax

 


----------------------------

#190306 Jul 18, 2013

Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

Thanks,

Ken



----------------------------

#190307 Jul 18, 2013

They should have stuck with QSI decoders.

--- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "Ken" boomer17@...> wrote:

>

> Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.



----------------------------

#190309 Jul 18, 2013

Ken,

I have a couple Paragon2 switchers and am very happy with their

performance and sound. Both with their proprietary sound decoders.

Jerry On 7/18/2013 2:19 PM, Ken wrote:

>

> Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

>

> Thanks,

> Ken

>

>



----------------------------

#190310 Jul 18, 2013

I have the opposite opinion, having more than a dozen Paragon & Paragon 2 units. I have no issues with any of them.

Ed --- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "PTurvill" paul@...> wrote:

>

> They should have stuck with QSI decoders.

>

>

> --- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "Ken" boomer17@> wrote:

> >

> > Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

>



----------------------------

#190317 Jul 19, 2013

Ken,

I have 3 HO BLI diesels w/Paragon 2 sound decoders plus 2 sound equipped stock cars, all of which sound & run fine. I also have a bunch of N PCM E7's with the Lok-sound decoders which some people complained about. I had some loss of settings at first, I now attribute that to early JMRI definition files, haven't had problems with them in ages.

Mean Gene

--- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "Ken" boomer17@...> wrote:

>

> Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

>

> Thanks,

> Ken

>



----------------------------

#190318 Jul 19, 2013

Ken:

The P2 decoders have a certain range....

Some are quite good but one in particular, the Hybrid NYC Hudson is quite difficult to program even with smoke turned off.

JIm Albanowski

snip>







----------------------------

#190322 Jul 19, 2013

I have the standard NYC Hudson with no issues.

Ed --- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "Jim A." jimalbanowski@...> wrote:

>

> Ken:

>

> The P2 decoders have a certain range....

>

> Some are quite good but one in particular, the Hybrid NYC Hudson is quite difficult to program even with smoke turned off.

>

> JIm Albanowski

>

> snip>

>



----------------------------

#190324 Jul 19, 2013

Hi,

My 2 cents - for what that's worth these days - is

"I've never seen run/heard a Paragon 2 that I didn't wish

that BLI had used a Tsunami or even a QSI".

I and the guys around here have a fair number of BLI models

that are QSI equipped. I, like my friends, stopped purchasing

BLI locos for myself when they converted to the Paragon 2

decoders. I have decoder install clients that have been having

me remove the Paragon 2s and replace them with Soundtraxx.

The more recent production Paragon 2s seem to be "OK" ...

just good enough that if you have one it probably doesn't make

sense to replace them ... but I still wish that BLI would abandon

that track and come back to the main line. They (BLI) certainly

haven't been "negotiating deals for decoders very well" when

you compare the Bachmanns with the Tsunamis to the Paragon 2

product line (even if the Tsunami in the Bachmann has a

"limited function" decoder).

- Jim Betz



----------------------------

#190332 Jul 19, 2013

--- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "PTurvill" paul@...> wrote: >

> They should have stuck with QSI decoders.

>

>

> --- In Digitrax@yahoogroups.com, "Ken" boomer17@> wrote:

> >

> > Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

>i agree

Bill







----------------------------

#190333 Jul 20, 2013

Hi

My negative opinion of Broadway Ltd engines doesn't stop with just their inferior sound. I bought a 4-8-2 steamer about 5 years ago and to this day it hasn't gone more than 100 feet without having some sort of problem. When it was brand new it wouldn't go ten feet on straight track without derailing both the pilot wheels and the drivers. I sent it back to Broadway Ltd twice and it came back both times in worse shape than when I sent it. The drivers were out of adjustment so ban that it would actually tip over if I could get it up to about 50 scale MPH without it derailing first. I finally found a guy locally that said he could fix it. He worked on it and said the drivers and rods and bearings were actually put together wrong right out of the factory. It now runs so-so but if I run it much I have to put a gondola behind it to put all the detail parts in as they fall off.. Between not-too-good sound, poor factory service, and parts coming off randomly I consider this the worst engine I have ever bought. It is now on a shelf collecting dust.

Steve Markos ----- Original Message -----

From: "Ken" boomer17@...>

To: Digitrax@yahoogroups.com

Sent: Thursday, July 18, 2013 1:19:34 PM

Subject: [Digitrax] Broadway Limited w/ Paragon 2 opinions





Would like to see some opinions (good or bad) of these engines.

Thanks,

Ken


S
e
n
i
o
r
T
u
b
e
.
o
r
g